Jay Clark

Jay & Aiden

Jay & Aiden

Contributed by Jay Clark

After graduation I worked for Professor Cioffi putting together CLE programs around the State.  After doing that for several months I rented some office space and hung out my own shingle.  I’ve been in practice since.  My practice concentrates on criminal defense representation in state and federal court at the trial and appellate level. I’ve had the opportunity to represent people in literally everything from speeding tickets to murder charges. I absolutely love me job. I never have a dull day, and there is almost always a new and different challenge.  Since 2000 my office has been in The Citadel, on 8th Street in Cincinnati.  Several of the attorneys who share space in the building are some of the best criminal defense attorneys in the country. It’s a privilege to get to work with them.

I went to the National Criminal Defense College in Macon., GA.  I became a Life Member of the National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, where I also served 2 terms on the Board of Directors. I was also a co-chair of NACDL’s Problem Solving Court Task Force and Pre-Trial Justice Task Force.  From 2010 to 2014, I was also a CLE Seminar Co-Chair.  I served on the Board of Directors of the Ohio Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers, and as Co-chair of the CLE and Strike Force Committees.  On a local level I’m a Past President of the Greater Cincinnati Criminal Defense Lawyers Association. In 2005, GCCDLA awarded me the Jim Looker President’s Award for Excellence in Criminal Representation.

Jay and his stepsons

Jay and his stepsons

In 2001, I became an adjunct professor at the Law School. (Hey, no laughing). I teach Forensic Science, Criminal Pre-Trial Investigation, and Trial Practice – Criminal Defense. Several years ago UC and Chase jointly started an intern program in criminal defense. Through the program I’m also a Supervising Attorney to students in the Indigent Defense Clinic.  In 2010 I won the Adjunct Faculty Teaching Excellence Award.

I have two step-sons, Corey, 27, and Neiko, 22. They are both grown and out of the house.  I also have a 3 year old grandson, Aiden.  Having come into Corey and Neiko’s lives when they were 11 and 6, I never experienced the joy of an infant and toddler. It is the most wonderful experience of my life. I know all grandparents say the same thing, but in this case it’s true, he is the most adorable child in the world.

I enjoy spending my free time with my four dogs.  The smallest is about 100 pounds.  I was only supposed to have three, but for some reason thought fostering a dog was a good idea. Only after it was too late did I realize I would never be able to let her go to another home.  Thus I’m a canine foster failure.

Woof!

Woof!

I also am involved in transporting dogs. Kind of like an underground railroad for dogs.  Typically the dogs come from high kill shelters, and are traveling to no kill shelters or rescues, who house and care for the dogs until they find forever homes. Usually each driver will transport his dogs(s) any where from an hour to two hours, where the next driver is met and the puppies exchanged. From there the journey continues. It’s a great feeling to play a small role in saving the life of a wonderful soul.

Cory’s is gone, but I still get out from time to time to see Richie and the Students.  He still has just as much energy as he did over 25 years ago.

It’s hard to believe 25 years has passed.  I’m looking forward to seeing everyone and catching up on what’s happened over the last 25 years.

Leave a Reply

