Jolene King West

Jolene

Mark, Jolene, Nick, and Brett

Contributed by Jolene King West

After graduation, I went to work for the company that my family owned in Tennessee, handling various legal and insurance risk matters. In 1996, the company was sold to a private equity firm. I then went to work for that firm, specifically handling insurance and related risk matters. After subsequent acquisitions, and then mergers with affiliated companies, I was promoted into a job that required travel to our operation locations throughout the US. That job necessitated too much travel, and time spent away from my family; I left the company in 2001 and became a full-time stay-at-home mom. When both of my children went off to elementary school, I became a substitute teacher and a volunteer at our church. I am now working part-time as the Administrator at our church, where I handle administrative and financial responsibilities.

My husband Mark and I have been married for 21 years. Our oldest son Nick (18) begins his freshmen year at UT-Chattanooga next month, and Brett (15) will begin his sophomore year of high school next week. Our family enjoys golf and travel – in the past few summers our focus has been on states west of the Mississippi River, including recent trips to San Francisco, Puerto Rico, Denver, Phoenix and Santa Fe. It is our goal to visit every state and US territory!

I am sorry that I cannot attend the reunion. We are moving into a new home the weekend of the reunion . . . it was supposed to be ready earlier, but as they say: “the best laid plans of mice and men often go awry.” Hope everyone has a great time and I wish you much fun!

One thought on “Jolene King West

Leave a Reply

