Joe Brooker

Joe, Susan, Sydney, and Jack

Joe, Susan, Sydney, and Jack

Contributed by Joe Brooker

Following graduation from UC Law, I spent 7 great years with Vorys, Sater, Seymour & Pease in Columbus practicing in the energy and environmental law areas, doing litigation, regulatory compliance and, ultimately, M&A work.

In 1996, Susan and I were engaged immediately after finishing the 100th Boston Marathon.  In early 1997, we picked up and moved to Boulder, Colorado, and I became a partner in a regional law firm in Denver.

I left the practice of law and joined the management team of two private equity-backed oil and gas exploration and production startup companies that we successfully sold in 2001 and 2005. Thereafter, I ran a small, publicly traded oil and gas exploration and production company in a turnaround situation. I am now with Artex Oil Company managing our Utica Shale assets in eastern Ohio, and commute between Colorado and Ohio.

Susan and I are the parents of two amazing kids, Sydney and Jack, born in 2002 and 2005. Susan and I are very involved in our kids’ school (Boulder Country Day School), she the President of the PTA and I as a member of the Board of Trustees and Chair of the Board. We are very involved in the kids’ sports such as swimming, baseball and basketball.

Susan qualified and ran in the 2000 Olympic Marathon Trials. She is now doing triathlons and has competed at a very high level in half ironmans. I occasionally find the time to jump on a mountain bike, ski, or grab the fly rod and try to outsmart a trout with a brain the size of a pea – a contest at which I am only modestly successful.

Leave a Reply

