Lisa Hathaway

Lisa HathawayContributed by Lisa Hathaway.

After law schooL I worked in risk management at Riverside Methodist Hospital in Columbus. Ohio. I then went to Baker & Hostetler  in Columbus and primarily worked in the areas of litigation, regulatory, and health care. In 1994, I went in-house with HCR, which is now Manor Care, in Toledo Ohio. Manor Care owns nursing homes, hospices, and similar facilities. I worked over five years in the legal department and then took a position on the business side for another five and a half years and was National Director of Managed Care Contracting.  In that last position, I had a staff and we negotiated all of the managed care contracts. did credentialing, and I traveled a lot, covering 32 states.

I lived in Toledo for a year when working for Manor Care, and then moved to the Ann Arbor/Northville and Novi areas. In the spring of 2004. I moved to Florida, to work for Florida Blue, the plan side, and hold the position of Assistant General Counsel. I support the delivery area, work on provider agreements (hospital and ancillary), support the care, delegation, credentialing areas, work on complex vendor arrangements, retail and specialty pharmacy, Medicare Advantage and Part D, and complex accounts receivables.

I am active as a volunteer and on several boards. I very involved with American Health Lawyers Association (AHLA). and have served on the Board since 2010, and am now serving my second three year term, and I also several on several committees and am Co-Chair of the Plan Institute for 2015. Before serving on the AHLA Board, I was Chair of the AHLA Payors, Plans and Managed Care Providers practice group (“PPMC”) for three vears. and prior to this was Vice Chair of Membership for PPMC for 6 years. I frequently speak for AHLA and the Blues at educational conferences and occasionally author articles. I am also on the Board of the local North Florida Multiple Sclerosis Society, and run the Florida Blue bike team. I am on the Board of the local chapter of the North Florida Association of Corporate Counsel.

I continue to love sports. concentrating on long distance riding. golf, swimming laps. kayaking. Yoga and Pilates. I am retired from running marathons and playing a lot of soccer.

I don’t have any kids, but I am known for spoiling my niece and nephews. I have a great dog, Coda, and a small cat, Abbey.

Leave a Reply

