Joseph Kinlin

Joe & Lisa with their three kids: Ryan (23), Tanner (22), and Kathleen (20)

Joe & Lisa with their three kids: Ryan (23), Tanner (22), and Kathleen (20)

Contributed by Joe Kinlin

I was already a commissioned Air Force officer while attending UC and upon graduation I went on extended active duty as a Judge Advocate; and no I didn’t fly jets. I did however experience a quite varied practice, in many different locales, as a military attorney over the years.

I have been stationed in Missouri, Ohio, Germany, and Texas, with the addition of my unit having been sent to a variety of places, including Croatia, Slovakia, England, “the desert,” and the Congo.  My Air Force practice has had me be a criminal prosecutor, a criminal defense attorney, the equivalent of a city attorney, the managing partner of a small law firm, an environmental attorney and the Professional Development Program Manager for all Air Force legal professionals.

I retired from the Air Force in 2011 and I am now working as a civilian attorney for the Army at Fort Sam Houston in Texas. My practice is in federal sector Labor & Employment law. I defend the Army in discrimination complaints, discharge of employees under current civil service laws, and union matters, and provide litigation support to the San Antonio U.S. Attorney’s office.

I live with my wife Lisa in New Braunfels, Texas, just northeast of San Antonio–the home of Schlitterbahn, rated the best waterpark in the U.S.  Lisa is a hairdresser and likes to say she is making the world beautiful one person at a time, and although she is still trying with me I do like the free haircuts.  We are part time empty-nesters as all the kids are in college and periodically come home. That does give us the opportunity to travel and we have in the past couple of years taken full advantage of the lower costs of just two on the go. We have visited the Caribbean several times, and we have a Mediterranean cruise planned for next year.

Leave a Reply

