Sohaib Qadar

Contributed by Sohaib Qadar

Within a month after taking the Ohio Bar exam in July 1989, I returned to Pakistan and began working for Occidental Petroleum’s Legal Department.  I worked for Occidental until March 1999, in Islamabad (Pakistan), Bakersfield (California) and Doha (Qatar). From 1995 to 1999, I was Occidental’s Doha based General Attorney and Compliance Officer for the Middle East Region, and I worked on projects covering Egypt, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Syria, the UAE, and Yemen.

Qadar family

Sohaib with his wife Momenat (Mona) and daughters Hanna (14) and Sarah (11).

In April 1999, I moved back to Islamabad to start my own oil and gas law practice. Within a few years, my law firm was recognized as the top oil and gas practice in Pakistan by Asia – Pacific Legal 500. My clients included Occidental Petroleum, BP, OMV, the government of Pakistan, and more than a dozen other petroleum companies, and I covered projects in Pakistan, Afghanistan, Iran, and the Arabian Gulf.

When the War on Terror started spilling into Islamabad in 2006, I decided to move back to the USA; however, with my Pakistan passport, immigration to USA did not appear to be the best option.  I applied for Canadian immigration and started looking for an expat job outside Pakistan immediately.

In mid- 2006, I moved to Bucharest, Romania as part of the management team of Petrom, the Romanian national oil company, which was acquired a year earlier by a company I represented in Pakistan, OMV. My task was to close Petrom’s offices in India, Iran and Tanzania, sell unprofitable assets in Kazakhstan, and open an office in Turkmenistan. Later, in 2008, I moved to OMV’s head office is Vienna as BD & Commercial Manager for the Former Soviet Union and Eastern Europe.

In 2010, I moved to Calgary as an immigrant, and started Canadian Rockies Energy Inc., a consulting company focused on developing oil and gas business for Canada- and US-based clients in Central Asia and Eastern Europe. During the last four years, I have worked on projects in Albania, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Montenegro, Pakistan, Romania, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan, for multiple clients, including MNP Petroleum Corporation, a TSX-V listed junior petroleum exploration company, for whom I am also part time General Counsel.

During my career, I have also published eight books and more than twenty papers on oil and gas laws and policies – and made presentations at petroleum forums all over the world. In addition, I also taught International Business Law and Petroleum Law courses at law schools in Pakistan as a Visiting Lecturer from 2000 to 2006.

On the personal front, I got married to Momenat (Mona) in Pakistan, in April 1993. Mona until recently was only a homemaker taking care of our two daughters, Hanna and Sarah. Two years ago she decided to go back to school, and last month obtained a Professional Cooking Diploma from the Southern Alberta Institute of Technology, Calgary, and also passed her Alberta licensing exam for Chef. We may now open an international café in Calgary.

One thought on “Sohaib Qadar

  1. Pingback: Memories From Law School | UC Law '89 @ 25

Leave a Reply

